you're reading...
EPE #310

Physical Education Meets Science

Last semester I had the opportunity to pre-intern in a grade 4/5 classroom. So while searching for something to do on a cold winters day, I took a little look at the grade 5 physed curriculum. To my delight, I noticed some cross-curricular connections between grade 5 science and physed.

On page 27 of the physical education curriculum guide it states, “ It is in this grade that students begin to create and implement a plan for improving their own level of cardiovascular health-related fitness. Specifically, Grade 5 students focus attention on using the F.I.T.T principle  (Frequency Intensity, Type of activity and Time) as a guide in creating plans for improving their cardiovascular fitness”.

As part of the physical education outcome 5.1, students are required to create health- related fitness plans and focus upon cardiovascular endurance. In the science outcome HB5.2 students are required to investigate the function of body systems such as the circulatory system. Basically, I realized that while teaching the circulatory in your science class, you could be teaching students about cardiovascular endurance and heart rate in physical education.

As exciting as this was for me, I was also disappointed in myself. I had already taught a lesson on the circulatory system in the classroom. Instead of taking the students to the gym and having them take their heart rate there, I did some activities in the classroom. In the future, I would definitely teach the circulatory system as a cross-curricular subject with physed. There would be endless types of games/activities you could play and incorporate to muscular endurance and heart rate.

I thought I would share my findings with you so that you might incorporate these kinds of connections in your own science and physed classes!

Cheers!

About porterjen

I am a pre-service teacher studying at the University of Regina. I have created this blog to follow the weekly events of my physical education class. I look forward to updating my first professional blog!

Discussion

One thought on “Physical Education Meets Science

  1. Jenny,
    I think that connecting the different subject curricula is going to be the hardest part. I am s l o w l y starting to get a handle on the grade 1 curriculum, but I don’t know the ins and outs of it and I am sure there are more things that I could be doing to coordinate my planning and teaching of a subject and a theme. It’s a good reminder though to try and look at potential links between subjects for all of our teaching.

    Posted by Tamara | February 2, 2012, 3:21 am

Leave a Reply

Categories

Twitter Updates

  • @WarcraftDevs Are the changes to Helya on P3 intentional? Really hard for progressing guild to get the kill, with 1 week left to NH 9 months ago
