you're reading...
EPE #310

The Life of a Pre-Intern

So my first week of pre internship has come and gone already. I am very  happy to be in the classroom because I am learning so about myself as a teacher. For the next two weeks, I will continue teaching a math unit on geometry to the grade fives. Aside from math, I will be co-teaching a social studies unit on treaties and picking up extra lessons as I go.

This week, I had the chance to teach a phys ed lesson with Tayler, and I think it went pretty well. We had the students complete a dynamic warm up with several locomotor skills, and then played a game from our night class. The students were in teams, and they had to hit over the cones in the opposing team’s mat zone. Once they had hit a cone, they could bring it back to their mat zone.

The kids were all moving, and they looked like they were having a lot of fun! We switched up the game every couple of minutes and had the students kick the ball, and then pass the ball to their partners (not allowed to move with the ball).

Image

Although we tried to use music as our management tool, the C.D player’s volume was too low for everyone to hear. As a result, Tayler and I had to get the student’s attention by counting down, saying freeze, or using wait time. It is really difficult to get everyone to stop moving, and I think the music could have helped us a lot.

Another issue we rant into was time management. We had 30minutes for phys ed, but by the time the students got the gym, finished their warm-up and heard the instructions, we had about 15 minutes left. I realized then how important it is for your students to have a structured phys ed routine. The small amount of time for phys ed needs to be utilized. 

However, since it was our first time in the gym, I think Tayler and I did well given the circumstances. We have the opportunity to teach phys ed again next week and we plan to play wellness tag. I’m excited to see how the students like the game, and how our time and class management go!

About porterjen

I am a pre-service teacher studying at the University of Regina. I have created this blog to follow the weekly events of my physical education class. I look forward to updating my first professional blog!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The Life of a Pre-Intern

  1. sounds like things are going fabulous for you and Tayler! That is great!! Glad you are learning a lot about yourself…and I am sure recognizing your strengths like Dennis would tell us!! Have a great week next week!!

    Posted by lanakormos | March 17, 2012, 7:26 pm
  2. Thanks Lana! Your so right, Dennis has been awesome and has helped me recognize the strengths I have! Hope everything is going great for you too!

    Posted by porterjen | March 18, 2012, 5:50 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

Twitter Updates

  • @WarcraftDevs Are the changes to Helya on P3 intentional? Really hard for progressing guild to get the kill, with 1 week left to NH 9 months ago
